Long Beach

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

LONG BEACH, CA, APR. 9, 2005 — On the palm-lined streets of sunny Long Beach California , Chris Dyson qualified the Thetford/Norcold Dyson Racing Toyota Atlantic car in the fourth starting position. In only his second Atlantic race weekend, Chris has been on pace all weekend on the premier street course in America . “Our first Atlantic race weekend at Portland last year was very much a learning experience,” reflected Chris. “We knew coming into this year that it would be tough to do well here so we really prepared hard in the off season and I think the qualifying effort here today is reflecting that and I hope the race is an extension further still.”

The festive feel of this 31st running of the classic race by the ocean, extended into the Dyson pits as they were able to mix it up with racers with years of open wheel experience. “I am learning more every lap here and we are having a good time,” said Chris. “Eight tenths off pole is a big improvement over yesterday. To think we could have been third if we were two tenths quicker, burns at you a bit, but we are on a good starting position which is great for tomorrow. I know I can race with these guys. If you watch the history of this race over the years, you can do well here from back a bit. You just have to hang in touch with the leaders and I think we have a car that we can do that with it.”

Chris Dyson won the 2003 American Le Mans Series LMP675 championship. Last year, Chris ran the ALMS LMP1 championship, finishing on the podium six of nine times, including two seconds and four thirds. He finished fourth in the Le Mans Endurance Series race at Silverstone , England and was the highest-placed American driver at the 24 Hours of Le Mans , driving with reigning FIA Sportscar champion, Jan Lammers.

Pos Car# Driver Best Time Team
1. 3 Antoine Bessette (R) 1:19.375 Polestar Racing
2. 8 Andreas Wirth (R) 1:19.641 Brooks Associates Racing
3. 10 Fernando Rees (R) 1:19.723 Brooks Associates Racing
4. 16 Chris Dyson (R) 1:19.870 Dyson Racing
5. 5 Rocky Moran Jr 1:19.903 P-1 Racing
6. 6 Tonis Kasemets 1:19.994 Dan Cobb Racing
7. 12 Katherine Legge (R) 1:20.027 PKV-Polestar Racing
8. 24 Kyle Kelley (R) 1:21.363 McAtee Motorsports
9. 49 Dan Selznick 1:21.963 The Room Store
10. 23 Tom Nastasi (R) 1:22.459 Blackforest Motorsports
Scroll to Top