Andy Wallace

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

POUGHKEEPSIE, NY November 27, 2006 – Andy Wallace will be celebrating his thirteenth year with Dyson Racing by partnering with Butch Leitzinger full-time in the team’s #16 entry for the 2007 season. Replacing recently retired James Weaver, Wallace is the only driver who has won all of the “big four” sportscar races: the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Daytona 24 Hours, the 12 Hours of Sebring, and the Petit Le Mans. He has won Le Mans once, Daytona three times and Sebring twice. Additionally, he has five class victories in these world-class events, twenty-one over all podiums, and four class podiums.

“I know it is an over worked word, but it really is an honor to be chosen for this seat,” said Wallace. “I drove with James for a dozen years at Dyson Racing and no one was quicker in a sportscar. This is a special team – family would be a better word, and to be back full time with the guys is a great early Christmas gift. Like most drivers for Rob Dyson, I have had a great enduring relationship with fond memories. Rob gives you the tools to do the job right and as a driver, you cannot ask for more.”

Wallace co-drove with Leitzinger and Weaver this year at the 12 Hours of Sebring and Petit Le Mans, adding another Sebring class podium to his record. In recent years, Wallace shared the teams’ #20 car with Chris Dyson. In 2003, Wallace assisted in Chris Dyson’s LMP675 (now LMP2) championship, scoring three wins, four seconds and a third with the American.

“I am thrilled to have Andy back with us full-time,” noted Chris Dyson. “He is one of the great sportscar drivers. Andy is smooth, quick, consistent and unselfish as a team member. He has been part of our family for a long time and like James Weaver, is unparalleled on feed back and car set-up. He has contributed much to our success over the years. There really is no one better out there. It was a decision that made itself.”

The expanded twelve-race 2007 American Le Mans Series kicks off with the Winter Test January 21 – 24 at Sebring, FL, and the first race of the season will be the 55th annual Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring on March 17th.

Scroll to Top