Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

BOWMANVILLE, ON August 28, 2010 – Chris Dyson qualified the #16 Castrol Mazda Lola coupe second for the penultimate round of the American Le Mans Series, the Grand Prix of Mosport. Dyson’s time was less than two-tenths off the pole-winning time and was the third consecutive front row start for the team, accomplished at the track where Dyson won his first overall American Le Mans Series pole in 2005.

“It is always great to be on the front row of Mosport,” said Dyson. “This is one of the most exhilarating tracks in the world. To do a quick lap here is extremely satisfying. Mosport is known for its one-line racing and you want to take advantage of a good starting position. The Dunlop tires were excellent and we are ready for a strong run tomorrow.”

“Mosport is the highest speed circuit we race on all season,” added Guy Smith. “More than any place else, it feels like an oval circuit. You have to be very smooth and inch perfect. When it all clicks and you do a fast lap, it is a massively rewarding.”

Peter Weston, Technical Director, explained “there is really only one braking zone: at turn five at the bottom of the hill. You breathe on the brakes at turn three if the car is good and than you can go from the exit of ten on the pit straight and not lift again until turn three. The key word is balance because you want to keep as much balance on the car through all the high-speed corners so the driver has confidence. It is not dissimilar to Daytona where you have to set up the car to handle the vertical and aero loads on the banking and yet have as much grip as possible in the infield sections.”

Mosport is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year and Myles Brandt, track president, marks his 40th year at the track. “We congratulate Myles on his first class stewardship of one of North America’s most history-filled racing venues,” said Rob Dyson. “He has successfully navigated forty years of changes in racing and the economy. Our hats are off to him and his team.”

The Grand Prix of Mosport starts at 3:05 p.m. ET tomorrow. SPEED will air the race in its entirety starting at 4 p.m. ET with live radio coverage available on ALMS Radio as well as Sirius Channel 127 and XM Channel 242.

Pos Car# Class Drivers Time Car Make
1. 6 P Dumas/Graf 1:06.956 Porsche RS Spyder
2. 16 P Dyson/Smith 1:07.142 Mazda-MZR-R
3. 1 P Brabham/Pagenaud 1:07.228 HPD ARX – 01
4. 8 P Drayson/Cocker 1:07.482 Lola B09 60
5. 12 P Mowlem/Burgess 1:08.117 Lola B06 10
6. 52 PC Gonzalez/Diaz 1:11.455 Oreca FLM09
7. 36 PC Montecalvo/Zugel 1:12.013 Oreca FLM09
8. 99 PC Jeannette/Julian 1:12.073 Oreca FLM09
9. 89 PC Marcelli/Ducote 1:12.239 Oreca FLM09
10. 55 PC Tucker/Bouchut 1:12.260 Oreca FLM09
Scroll to Top